Research and standardization

In a few years in Europe, soil health and the impact of agriculture have become major issues for science and regulation.
In this context, companies, research centers, public authorities and associations are multiplying their cooperation with Genesis, considered as the pioneer in measuring the sustainability of agricultural practices, environmental impact and soil health.
The main challenges are technical and scientific knowledge, standardization of indicators and large-scale operational deployment.

No items found.
November 2022

EU Soil Mission

Genesis has been selected by the EU to collaborate in the EU SOIL MISSION. The main objective of the mission 'A Soil Deal for Europe' is to create 100 living, flagship laboratories to lead the transition to healthy soils by 2030. This mission is based on two major schemes in which Genesis participates, one to define the indicators of soil health, BENCHMARK (Building a European Network for the Characterisation and Harmonisation of Monitoring Approaches for Research and Knowledge on Soil), the other to conduct experiments in European soil labs.

Read more
No items found.
October 2022

SBTN - Science Based Target Network

The Science Based Targets Network (SBTN), a collaboration of leading global nonprofit organizations working together to set science-based targets for all of Earth’s systems, requested that GENESIS join the working group to define soil health indicators.

Read more
No items found.
October 2022

Nature 2050

CDC Biodiversité, a subsidiary of the Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations, has entrusted Genesis with the exclusive supply of impact measurement indicators for the Nature 2050 projects. These projects aim at restoring biodiversity in the territories and promoting their adaptation to climate change. Genesis provides the measurement and monitoring tool, as well as the identification of impact improvement levers

Read more
No items found.
October 2022

ELO - European Landowner Organization

The European Landowners' Organization has entrusted GENESIS with the deployment of standardized tools and indicators in a Soil Living Lab. This lab will allow testing and demonstrating the implementation of a regenerative farming scheme on arable land and grasslands valorising ecosystem services, especially carbon sequestration and storage.

Read more
No items found.
October 2022

ISO soil quality standard

On behalf of EU, AFNOR, the French standards agency, has chosen GENESIS to join the working group in charge of creating an ISO standard for measuring soil quality. The role of GENESIS is to provide operational expertise in soil quality assessment methods and, in particular, in the choice of soil quality and health indicators.

Read more
No items found.
August 2022

i-Nov Winner

Genesis is the winner of the i-Nov innovation competition, a support scheme financed by the France 2030 plan, which aims at selecting innovation projects with a particularly strong potential for the French and European economy. 

Read more
No items found.
June 2022

Measuring carbon sequestration

WWF, Rémy Cointreau and Moët Hennessy have partnered with Genesis to define a methodology for measuring carbon sequestration to ensure soil health and environmental co-benefits (biodiversity, water, pollution, etc.). The working group is also responsible for developing the economic conditions for deploying such a system.

Read more
No items found.
May 2022

Abidjan Initiative

During the COP15 in Abidjan, the government of Côte d'Ivoire signed an agreement with GENESIS for the environmental certification of soil restoration projects funded by the "Abidjan Initiative". This program aims mainly to ensure transparency on the environmental impact of export crops (coffee, hevea, cocoa, cotton in particular).

Read more
No items found.
April 2022

FREACS

This agreement with ENS has been completed by a joint participation in the European FREACS project, funded by the external call for tenders of the European Agricultural Soils Program EJP SOIL. This project associates other academic partners such as INRAe, Helsinki University, Landcare Research (NZ), Sorbonne University, Thünen Institute of Climate Smart Agriculture, Finnish Meteorological Institute.

Read more
No items found.
November 2021

Carbotopy

The Ecole Normale Supérieure and the CNRS have signed a scientific cooperation agreement with GENESIS to develop knowledge of carbon dynamics in European soils. The development of this program is based on an active collaboration with the Joint Research Centre, which is the internal scientific service of the European Commission and which has an important soil bank in Ispra, Italy.

Read more
Genesis logo

Recherche et standardisation

En quelques années en Europe, santé des sols et impact de l’agriculture sont devenus des enjeux majeurs pour la science et la réglementation.
Dans ce contexte, entreprises, centres de recherche, pouvoirs publics et associations multiplient leurs coopérations avec Genesis, considéré comme le pionnier de la mesure de la durabilité des pratiques agricoles, de l'impact environnemental et de la santé des sols.
Les principaux enjeux sont les connaissances techniques et scientifiques, la normalisation des indicateurs et le déploiement opérationnel à grande échelle.

No items found.
November 2022

EU Soil Mission

Genesis a été retenue par l’UE pour collaborer au sein de la EU SOIL MISSION. L'objectif principal de la mission 'A Soil Deal for Europe' est de créer 100 laboratoires vivants et phares pour mener la transition vers des sols sains d'ici 2030. Cette mission se fonde sur deux dispositifs majeurs auxquels participe Genesis, l’un pour définir les indicateurs de santé des sols, BENCHMARK (Building a European Network for the Characterisation and Harmonisation of Monitoring Approaches for Research and Knowledge on Soil), l’autre pour mener des expérimentations au sein de soil labs européens.

Read more
No items found.
October 2022

SBTN - Science Based Target Network

Le Science Based Targets Network (SBTN), une collaboration d'organisations mondiales à but non lucratif de premier plan qui travaillent ensemble pour fixer des objectifs fondés sur la science pour tous les systèmes de la Terre, a demandé à GENESIS de rejoindre le groupe de travail chargé de définir les indicateurs de santé des sols.

Read more
No items found.
October 2022

Nature 2050

CDC Biodiversité, filiale de la Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations, a confié à Genesis la fourniture exclusive d'indicateurs de mesure d'impact pour les projets Nature 2050. Ces projets visent à restaurer la biodiversité des territoires et à favoriser leur adaptation au changement climatique. Genesis fournit l'outil de mesure et de suivi, ainsi que l'identification des leviers d'amélioration de l'impact.

Read more
No items found.
October 2022

ELO - European Landowner Organization

La European Landowners Organization a confié à GENESIS le déploiement des outils et indicateurs normalisés au sein d’un Soil Living Lab du EU SOIL MISSION. Ce laboratoire va permettre de tester et démontrer opérationnellement les conditions de mise en œuvre d'un système d'agriculture régénérative sur des terres arables et des prairies pour valoriser les services écosystémiques, notamment la séquestration et le stockage du carbone.

Read more
No items found.
October 2022

Norme ISO qualité des sols

L’AFNOR, agence française de normalisation a choisi GENESIS pour rejoindre le groupe de travail en charge, pour le compte de l’europe, de la création d'une norme ISO pour la mesure de la qualité des sols. Le rôle de GENESIS est d'apporter une expertise opérationnelle dans les méthodes d’évaluation de la qualité des sols et notamment sur le choix des indicateurs de qualité et de santé des sols.

Read more
No items found.
August 2022

Lauréat i-Nov

La BPI et FRANCE RELANCE ont sélectionné GENESIS comme lauréate du concours d’innovation i-Nov. Ce dispositif de soutien, financé par le plan France 2030, a pour vocation de sélectionner des projets d’innovation au potentiel particulièrement fort pour l’économie française et européenne.

Read more
No items found.
June 2022

Mesure de la séquestration du carbone

WWF, Rémy Cointreau et Moët Hennessy se sont associés à Genesis pour définir une méthodologie de mesure de la séquestration du carbone assurant la santé des sols et des co-bénéfices environnementaux (biodiversité, eau, pollution, etc.). Le Groupe de travail est aussi chargé de bâtir les conditions économiques du déploiement d’un tel dispositif.

Read more
No items found.
May 2022

Initiative Abidjan

Lors de la COP15 à Abidjan, le gouvernement de Côte d'Ivoire a signé un accord avec GENESIS pour la certification environnementale des projets de restauration des sols financés par l'"Initiative d'Abidjan". Ce programme vise principalement à assurer la transparence sur l'impact environnemental des cultures d'exportation (café, caoutchouc, cacao, coton notamment).

Read more
No items found.
April 2022

FREACS

Cet accord avec l’ENS a été complété par une participation commune au projet européen FREACS, financé par l’appel d’offre externe du programme européen sur les sols agricoles EJP SOIL. Ce projet associe d’autres partenaires académiques tels que l’INRAe, Helsinki University, Landcare Research (NZ), Sorbonne University, Thünen Institute of Climate Smart Agriculture, Finnish Meteorological Institute.

Read more
No items found.
November 2021

Carbotopy

L’Ecole Normale Supérieure et le CNRS ont signé avec GENESIS un accord de coopération scientifique pour développer la connaissance de la dynamique du carbone dans les sols européens. Ce programme s’appuie sur une collaboration active avec la banque de sol du JRC, service scientifique interne de la Commission européenne basé à Ispra en Italie.

Read more
Logo Genesis